Blind Pig 1 Acorn 0

10 06 2014
Seriously?

Seriously?

So yesterday on the 17th tee at Glacier Greens, playing with my good buddies Roderick and the Chief, I selected my nine wood for the 140 yard shot to the pin. It flew high (not always the case with my tee shots) and with a slight fade (nearly always the case with any of my shots) on a pretty good line. Even before it landed, just short of the green, Rod said “That’s going in” and sure enough it did.

The odds against a hole in one for a hacker like me have been calculated at 12,500 to 1. Just goes to show, eh? As someone said to me years ago after I’d finally hit a good shot after a succession of duffs, chunks and chilly dips, “Even a blind pig finds an acorn every once in a while”.

Well, the pig just got lucky.

All da best!

Dave B.

Yup!

Yup!

 

Actions

Information

14 responses

10 06 2014
Ross Dowe

Dave:

Congratulations on the “ace” and welcome to the club!

Ross

10 06 2014
Bagger Dave

Thanks, Ross. For some reason I was actually more excited about my tee shot on #12. It didn’t go into the pond – for the first time in four rounds!

10 06 2014
Martin

Congrats Dave! You are far from the blind pig getting the acorn. I seem to remember having a chat with you when the truth came out that you have had more than one acorn! However, being the modest Dorset (?) lad you are I would have expected nothing less than silence from you. By the way, I love that expression…”Even a blind pig…..

10 06 2014
Bagger Dave

You should have seen the rest of my round, Martin. Balls were flying everywhere!

10 06 2014
Bud Bryan

Thanks again for the drink of Rum & Coke Dave. Just wish I could have been there with you to see it happen. All the best.
Bud

10 06 2014
Bagger Dave

You’re welcome, Bud. I’ll have the same when you get yours, please!

10 06 2014
popeyeandjane@shaw.ca

Well done Dave and Tanx for the celebration beverage. . Now you have one more than I do. The term pig rings a bell but never associated it with a teacher. I best go out and purchase me a nine iron. Cheers
Len

10 06 2014
Bagger Dave

Nine WOOD, Lennie! My nine iron would have been forty yards short of the green!

11 06 2014
Steve Ellis

Well Done David!! What else can I say?
Thanks for the beer and I hope I can pay you back soon under the same circumstances. I’ve never had an acorn of that nature.

11 06 2014
Bagger Dave

My pleasure, Stevie. I hope I’m there to see you get yours!

11 06 2014
John Ringstead

I think I remember something similar on #13 at Storey Creek. It’s a rare, wonderous feeling peering into the cup and seeing your ball- but a 9 wood- the same 9 wood!!!!
Perhaps, it’s time to retire the club and put it on display over the mantle piece. I’m sure Julie would approve.

11 06 2014
Bagger Dave

Thanks, John. Actually, one of my first thoughts on realising the ball had gone in was “Hey, Ringer aced this hole.” Course, that was off the blue tees, wasn’t it?

BTW, John, I’m playing MISGA at Duncan Meadows next week. See you there?

12 06 2014
Rick V.

Congratulations Dave I put my beer on your bar tab

12 06 2014
Bagger Dave

Well, Lennie was in there like a dirty shirt, Rick!

Leave a Reply

