All quiet on the western front

4 03 2016

I’d have to say that the past month has been a pretty quiet time for golf here on the wet coast of British Columbia. It’s not that the Sandbaggers and I haven’t been out on the course at Glacier Greens; it’s just that when we have been playing it’s either raining or, even if dry overhead, conditions are – shall we say – a tad soggy underfoot. Every tee shot we hit that lands in the fairway disappears into a hole of its own making, looking a bit like a mini mortar shell crater in no-man’s-land between the trenches in World War One. We’re actually pleased when a tee shot hits the cart path now, because at least we can see the ball bounce.

Li’l Stevie, the Great Robinski and I won a coffee each on Wednesday, but only because the other team, the Axis of Evil (Richard, Billy V and the Budmeister), quit after nine holes, tired of slogging through the mud. After 18 holes I was pretty tuckered out myself, having hit my driver no fewer than 23 times – when you don’t hit it very far anyway and then you get absolutely zero roll, even a 350 yard hole is a long way. I’m getting pretty skilled at finding a nice blob of mud within six inches of my tee shot so that I can perch the ball up in order to hit driver again.

In the mean time, here’s a reminder of what can happen when you’re young and skillful and the ball rolls a bit. I’m not a huge fan of Tiger Woods, but I did enjoy his reaction to this:

Roll on the spring! (Yeah – please let it roll.)

All da best.

Bagger Dave

(P.S. Message to Bud: the kid’s 11, you’re in your 70’s. Isn’t it time you got a hole in one? Just sayin’…)

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 03 2016
Martin

Ah David. I’ll bet you can feel the webbing developing between your toes. Thanks for the post. I always enjoy reading the latest from the Bagger!!
Martin.

4 03 2016
Bagger Dave

You’re welcome, Martin. You might be onto something: I’ve developed a bit of a duck hook recently. Quack!

4 03 2016
Len Doyle

Hey David … Do you think Mr. “no hole-in-one” Bud Bryan has put his five bucks into our new Saturday Men’s Hole-in-One event ??? … Mind you if he doesn’t want to play in the rain there is a good chance he may not see one for a few Saturday’s.
Len

5 03 2016
Bagger Dave

I’m sure he has, Lennie. Even I have, which shows what a great idea it was!

Leave a Reply

