A Boxing Day slip-up

29 12 2016

In Europe most countries take a winter break during their football season (that’s soccer for those of you of a North American persuasion). Given the cold, wet climate that would seem pretty sensible. Britain, of course, does not. Not only that, but games played over Christmas regularly attract the highest attendances of the season. When I was a kid teams actually played local derbies on Christmas Day itself, with the reverse fixture played 24 hours later, but nowadays they’ve settled on a full Boxing Day programme with two more games to play in the coming week.

I was particularly excited about this year’s fixture list as my favourite team, Southampton (known by all as the Saints), were playing my brother Mike’s favourite team, Tottenham Hotspur (known as Spurs by their fans and ‘those north London ba$tards’ by everyone else), and the game was going to be televised.

Over the years Spurs have definitely had the better of Southampton and Mike has rarely been slow to point this out. Determined to stake out the high moral ground, I phoned Mike ten minutes before kick off (7.45 pm British time, 11.45 am here on the west coast) to suggest that there was no need to phone each other every time our team scored – we could just have a nice, civilised chat once the game was over.

Well, that plan went straight out the window when Saints scored barely 60 seconds into the game. It was like reaching for that third mince pie – I knew I shouldn’t but I just couldn’t help myself: I rang Mike immediately. He was pretty good about it, but did point out that there were still 89 minutes left. And, of course, karma kicked in: 15 minutes later Spurs equalised. Surprisingly, Mike didn’t call. Early in the second half Spurs went ahead. Still no call. Saints conceded a penalty and had a player red-carded. Still no call. Spurs scored a third. Nothing. Finally, 30 seconds after Spurs went 4-1 up, the phone rang. Sure enough, call display showed Mike’s number. I picked up the phone and, without giving him the chance to speak, I said “Well, you can f#ck off for a start.” There was a pause… and then my 84 year old mum, without missing a beat, said “And a very Happy Christmas to you too, darling!”

So that’s me out of the will, then.

Love you, Mum!

Your truly penitent son

David

(Oh, and Mike – well played, both you and Spurs!)

Actions

Information

12 responses

29 12 2016
GtheSBer

foot in mouth once again Mr B. Well Done!

29 12 2016
Bagger Dave

Yep. It’s a condition I’ve suffered from my entire life, Glennie!

29 12 2016
Martin

Brilliant! I would have loved to have seen your face immediately after you heard those good wishes from Mum! All the best Dave.

29 12 2016
Bagger Dave

Oh, Martin – it must have been a picture!

29 12 2016
Mike Brooker

Love it.

So do mum, Joe, Lucy, Tom: they’ve all been here for dinner.

Bro.

Sent from my iPhone (nice new dry version).

>

29 12 2016
Bagger Dave

So…I’m back in the will, then?

29 12 2016
Len Doyle

David .. you call that a boxing day “slip-up”? Mr. Brooker, let me tell you that if that had happened in the Doyle Clan it would have been grounds for a public flogging … shame .. however … I’m sure she stills loves you, even with your potty-mouth.

Len

29 12 2016
Bagger Dave

To be honest, Len, my mum’s had to put up with a lot from her four kids over the years, so I don’t think it fazed her one bit.

29 12 2016
The Villages

SIr David,

Thanks for the laugh – that is a beauty! Hope you had a good Christmas and all the best for the New Year if I don’t run into you beforehand.

Bill >

29 12 2016
Bagger Dave

Thanks, William. It’s lucky my mum’s the forgiving sort. Ditto to you and Lori!

30 12 2016
kiefer

And I thought Rod had the biggest mouth to tuck his feet into……. hahahahaha

30 12 2016
Bagger Dave

Oh, I don’t think that’s changed…

Leave a Reply

